Hello, World! Books Flying Away

Hello, World! Books are flying as I remove them from my library.

Do bloggers really say “Hello, World”? Probably not, but the phrase is familiar to me from when I wrote computer programs. I’ve coded it often when testing a program’s output to the display or a printer.

An early programmer of “Hello, World!“was Brian Kernigan in his classic: Programming in C: A Tutorial, and, maybe, that is where I picked up the habit. Unfortunately, my copy of this famous text disappeared a few years ago when, in a previous library cleanup,  I sent my well worn volume off to the Friends of the Library, a local non-profit that takes books for re-sale to raise money to support the city library.

I am pruning my library again because I cannot find room on the shelves for my books. That complaint may sound familiar to others who are afflicted with the desire to read (and collect) books. I’m going to reduce the size of my library, and I plan to document the bloody process here on this blog.

The books removed will again find their way to the Friends of the Library and I hope that they find a new owner that will appreciate them as I did. It’s “Hello, World” time for my purged books, cruel but true.

Deaccession: Day  0, Books 0.

This blog is dedicated to Carto’s Library: on the occasion of its becoming a smaller, slimmer library.

Carto

About carto

Retired software engineer who grew up in Montana, went to Montana State College in Bozeman, and moved to California to work at Stanford Research Institute (SRI). Carto's Library is about books I've read and liked; Carto's Logbook is about photography, travel and adventure. Mt. Maurice Times is tall tales mostly biographical.
This entry was posted in Deaccession. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

